A Brief History of Screeching Weasel

Screeching Weasel in earlier days

        Screeching Weasel was formed in 1986 by Ben Weasel and Jughead. On their first record, Screeching Weasel, Weasel sang, Jughead played the guitar, Vinnie Bovine was on bass, and on the drums was Steve Cheese. Bovine left the band in '87 and was replaced by Warren (Formerly of Ozzfish). In 1988 after releasing BoogadaBoogadaBoogada, Cheese left the band and was replaced by Brian Vermin. Soon after their '88 tour with Spongetunnel, Warren left SW and was replaced by Danny Vapid. In 1989 Vapid and Vermin left the band and a year later Screeching Weasel broke up. In 1991, SW reformed with Weasel in vocals, Jughead on first guitar, Vapid on second, Danny Panic on drums, and Dave Naked playing bass. After SW produced My Brain Hurts and Wiggle, bassist Dave Naked left the band and was replaced by Johnny Personality. SW then produced a Ramones tribute album (Entitled Ramones), Anthem for a New Tommorow, How to Make Enemies and Irritate People (With Mike Dirnt on bass), and Kill the Musicians. In 1994 the broke up only to reunite in 1996 and create Bark Like a Dog and Television City Dreams (1998).


Since that was confusing, try my Timeline...:

1986 - Screeching Weasel is formed by Ben Weasel and Jughead.

1987 - Their debut album, Screeching Weasel is released on Roadkill Records with Vinnie Bovine and Steve Cheese.

1988 - BoogadaBoogadaBoogada is released.

Drummer Steve Cheese is replaced by Brian Vermin.

Screeching Weasel goes on tour with Spongetunnel.

1989 - Screeching Weasel EP Punkhouse is released.

Brian Vermin leaves the band.

1990 - Screeching Weasel breaks up.

Weasel and Jughead form a new band, the Gore Gore Girls.

1991 - Screeching Weasel returns with...

Vocals: Ben Weasel
First Guitar: Jughead
Second Guitar: Danny Vapid
Drums: Danny Panic
Bass: Dave Naked

My Brain Hurts released on Lookout Records.

1992 - Wiggle released on Lookout Records.

Dave Naked replaced by Johnny Personality.

1993 - Anthem for a New Tommorow released.

1994 - How to Make Enemies and Irritate People released.

1995 - Screeching Weasel breaks up.

Kill the Musicians is released on Lookout Records.

1996 - Weasel, Jughead, Vapid, and Panic release Bark Like a Dog.

1997 - Panic and Vapid leave and are replaced by Dan Lumley and Mass Giorgini. Weasel does only vocals and second guitarist is now Zac Damon.

Their first album, Screeching Weasel is re-released.

1998 - A big year for new Screeching Weasel CDs; Television City Dreams, Beat Is On the Brat (Ramones tribute album), and Major Label Debut are all released.

1999 - Zac Damon leaves.

Emo is produced.